School Sports Newfoundland & Labrador is proud to announce our 2016-17 Annual Award Winners. This past weekend we handed out 28 awards to deserving Varsity student-athletes and volunteers who’s time and dedication are integral to all our programs.

We once again had an excellent group of nominees so congrats to you all! Click Here to view award descriptions and see the award winners below.

Award Winner School
Brother G.I. Moore Athlete of the Year    
Female Athlete of the Year Jasmine O’Quinn Belanger Memorial
Female Athlete of the Year (Runner-Up) Shauna Slaney St. Lawrence Academy
Female Athlete of the Year (2nd Runner-Up) Charlotte Elliot Stephenville High
Male Athlete of the Year John St. Croix Stephenville High
Male Athlete of the Year (Runner-Up) George Kennedy Roncalli Central High
Male Athlete of the Year (2nd Runner-Up) Zach Applin Canon Richards Memorial
Coaching Service Awards Craig Ralph Glovertown Academy
  Ed Turpin Mealy Mountain Collegiate
Executive Service Awards Rosemary Ryan St. Thomas Aquinas
  Scott Bishop Holy Name of Mary Academy
Honour Award Winston Jenkins J.M. Olds Collegiate
Regional Recognition Awards    
St. John’s Charlie Decker Representing Various Schools
Avalon Amy O’Reilly Laval High School
Avalon West Gary Keough St. Mark’s School
Burin Peninsula Lorna Pittman St. Lawrence Academy
Central East Adam House Glovertown Academy
Central William Mitchell John Watkins Academy
Central West Andrew Bursey Indian River High School
Western Karen Colbourne Belanger Memorial
Northern Peninsula Emma Genge Canon Richards Memorial
Southern Labrador Verna Brown St. Mary’s All-Grade
Northern Nicole McLean Amos Comenius Memorial
Participation Nation Ambassador Award Rosemary Ryan St. Thomas Aquinas
Participation Nation Champion Awards Jonathan Claveau Ecole St. Anne
  Catherine Hicks Tri-Con Elementary
  Lockland MacDougall St. James Elementary
  Andy Poole Holy Cross School
  Jody Tiller Centreville Academy